Thursday, May 2, 2019

12 Gates Publishing - The Hamelin Stoop Series Review

We recently had the opportunity to review the first two books Hamelin Stoop series - Hamelin Stoop:  The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge and Hamelin Stoop:  The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna.  This series is published by 12 Gates Publishing.  You can purchase this series from major online book retailers and both are available also on audiobook. 

Hamelin Stoop:  The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge is the first book in the series.

Hamelin's parents were forced to make drastic decisions to protect his life.  Johnnie and Simon needed to protect their son.  Then Johnnie remembered a place where she could hide out her son.  She secretly left him on the porch of an orphanage where she also grew up.  This was heartbreaking for her, but she knew her son was in danger and needed protection.

The orphanage where Hamelin is living presents challenges for him.  They named him Hamelin Stoop after it was realized that no one could find his parents.  While this is going on, Hamelin's parents are taken prison by the evil Ren'dal.  Ren'dal is furious when the trackers do not return with all three of them.  

As Hamelin grows, he faces the same challenges that many kids his age face.  Yet he discovers a special help that he can turn to when he was just 8 years old.  He has the Great Eagle.  The secrets of his parents and his true identity are revealed.  He also sees that he is needed to embark on an adventure that will bring out fear and push his courage to the limit.

In Book 2, Hamelin is set off on another quest.  The adventure to find out his past is not going to be an easy one.  The Giant Eagle has lead him through the mysterious cave and over the footbridge.  But now he is off to the Waters of Death and Life.  He faces a war and learns more about the mysterious Ancient One.  But he needs to find a kidnapped princess and recover a stolen jewel.  But is Hamelin destined for more than on this Quest that he thought.  Is this child of two realms ready to keep going, especially with the help of The Giant Eagle.  

The Hamelin Stoop series is written for kids roughly late elementary through middle school.  I would say borderline Young Adult/early high school.   Lydia struggled reading the stories some due to her reading disabilities.  But I easily was able to get the audiobooks from Audible and downloaded them to her phone so that she could listen and follow along in her book.  I LOVE audiobooks.  Not only do they make traveling and schooling possible but they help student's with learning disabilities really accomplish more than they could on their own.  That's another reason I give this series a big thumbs up!!

12 Gates Publishing along with Robert Sloan are working on a Readers Guide to help students with their literature studies and they will be releasing this soon.

Caty and Lydia are truly enthralled with this new series.  They both love other science-fiction monster or ancient gods series fantasy series, and the Hamelin Stoop series has become a favorite with the girls.  In fact, Caty and Lydia have both asked me a couple times if they are going to be making a movie from this series.  This fantasy series is a definite read for tweens!!

Click on the link below to see how other members of the Homeschool Review Crew enjoyed this series and what they families thought of them.

The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge (Book 1) & The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna (Book 2) {12 Gates Publishing  Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer

No comments:

Post a Comment