Friday, October 18, 2019

WorthyKids - Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Series Review

The Bible is definitely not a boring book to read in many parts.  We recently had a chance to review new titles released in The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series from WorthyKids and written by M.J. Thomas.  We we able to review Book 5 - The Shepherd's Stone and Book 6 - The Lion's Roar.

Created for elementary reading level, about ages 6 - 9, The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series brings Bible stories to life.  This Christian children's series places your children in the Biblical events in a fun, and un-scary way.  Peter and Mary think they are spending time with their boring Great-Uncle, only to discover that he is an archaeologist that has discovered hidden scrolls that allow them to travel and solve clues.  Boredom solved and the excitement and adventure has begun.

Book 5 - The Shepherd's Stone, Peter, Mary, and Hank travel through time to Bethlehem, and with the help of ancient scrolls meet a young shepherd named David.  They follow along side of David onto the battlefield, with Mary in disguise.  David reminds them many times that God is on their side and will walk with them.  This became apparent when the trio faced a bear on the way to bring food to the battlefield.  When they got to the battlefield, they were able to see a giant soldier on the Philistine side named Goliath.  The trio are called to see King Saul, where David volunteers to handle Goliath.  He again repeats that God is on his side. Peter and Mary must solve the secret of the scroll before the solider of the Darkness gets to them.  They see David battle Goliath, and with David's help and God's they solve the scroll in time.

In Book 6 - The Lion's Road, Peter, Mary, and Hank are back traveling again to ancient Babylon.  They meet two young men Shadrach and Daniel.  They discover all the challenges that have been put in front of these men as they try to faithfully serve the true God while being enslaved in a pagan and corrupt culture.  As they battle a high priest who want to send them into a lion's den to their death, will they be able to solve the scroll yet again in this treacherous situation they have landed?  Will the Dark Soldier win this time, or does God really have their backs? 

Throughout this entire series, kids are reminded to rely on God for strength.  That no matter the problem, there is help.  They just need to have faith.  I know that many young kids have their youth Bibles with illustrations and short Bible stories to keep their attention.  As kids get older, they need to look at Biblical accounts more in-depth.  The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series, is a great way for young Bible students to read Bible accounts in an easy to understand format.   It really shows kids the real action side of the Bible accounts that they are learning about, and takes the "boredom" out of their Bible study.

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series is an easier chapter book series for elementary aged students.  Kids that are older with special needs will also enjoy this series.  I enjoyed the constant reminder of reliance on God for help in our lives.  They make great books to assign for Bible study and also family read-aloud books where you can discuss what is happening together.

The books are well made and contain illustrations throughout the book, which really help the story to come to life in your child's mind.  I personally think that The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series would make a great television series for kids to watch.  They really provide clean entertainment for families in this world full of questionable material and ideas.

We really are not working on either of the time periods that I mentioned above.  So we just used these stories as assigned reading material.  Lydia and Caty both enjoyed the stories.  At the end of both books, there is a list of the scriptural references so that your family can look up the event or story and read it directly from their own Bible.  

Several members of the Homeschool Review Crew were given the opportunity to review The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series Book 5 - The Shepherd's Stone and Book 6 - The Lion's Road.  Click on the link below to see how they used these books in their homes, and what they thought of them. 

Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) & The Lion's Roar (Book 6) {WorthyKids Books Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer

No comments:

Post a Comment